What's the point of a "risk visit"?

Posted in Insurance

When we have an appointment on site for a claim, I have to visit all the rooms of the house and enter into the intimate life of the insured. The insured rightly questions this approach even more when I take photographs or measurements of the surfaces of each room before even discussing the circumstances of the event. Imagine the tension that is felt when the garage or mezzanine have been converted into living quarters and not declared to the insurer, voluntarily or not. The same is true of a shopkeeper who closes his front door with a padlock.

What are the consequences of non-compliance of the risk visit on the compensation of a claim?

On our expertise reports, the Insurance Company asks the Expert first and foremost for the report of his "risk verification", in other words the control of the surfaces and the real number of rooms in relation to those declared by the insured at the time of subscription of the multi-risk home insurance contract. Concerning the means of protection on the front door and windows, the insured must comply with the requirements laid down, even more so for traders.

The most important compensations paid to policyholders concern fire claims, €1.4 billion in 2016 according to the French Insurance Federation's dashboard. It is also important for him to check that the means of prevention in this area are well in place (fire extinguishers).

Frequently, we are therefore led to declare non-compliance on the number of parts visited (more or less) and/or in the means of protection put in place before the claim and/or other points declared at the time of subscription. Simple omission of update or false declaration?

The key points of the risk visit for the individual

  • The declaration of the number of habitable rooms :
    • The very definition of a habitable room varies according to the insurers or even contracts within the same company; this is the reason why I systematically invite you to refer to your general and particular conditions of your insurance contract in all my articles.
  • Generally: it is a question of taking into account floor area alone (0 m2 to 9m2)
    • if the surface area exceeds 40 m2, the room counts as 2 main rooms or even 3 if it exceeds 80 m2.
    • Ceiling height is not always a determining factor;
      • sometimes the surface area alone on the ground is sufficient to qualify the part counting towards the premium calculation,
      • sometimes it is necessary to calculate and retain only the living area under ceiling height at 2 meters from the floor.
  • as well as the destination of the room :
    • certain rooms such as the dressing room or linen room or veranda may or may not be excluded.
    • For example:
      • a 7 m2 dressing room can count as a room at one insurer or not at another.
      • The kitchen is not counted as a main room unless in certain cases the surface is larger than the one defined in the contract!
    • Particular puzzle: the entrance, living room and kitchen located in the same space: the kitchen, the living room and the ...
  • Means of closure required on the front door are sometimes detailed in the contract.
  • The most commonly used button safety lock does not fit directly into the door frame. The door can be easily opened by simply pushing it; it is not an anchor point in the strict sense but a closing point.
  • The means of protection required for windows and window doors such as shutters or bars are sometimes mentioned in your contract (a maximum distance may be required, if so!).
  • The value of the contents is a key factor in determining the limits of cover according to the category of goods: valuables or jewellery. The HISCOX Company offers a new "Fine Art" service with free valuation of 10 precious objects of the insured person's choice.
  • Other points are to be specified according to the companies: which are the persons having the quality of insured and residing on the premises as main or secondary residence, presence or not of chimney, insert, photovoltaic panels, swimming pool, the building and the floor of the apartment, the environment (inhabited area or not...) and other points.

In summary, it is preferable to inform your insurer of any changes that have occurred since you took out the policy, even if you change floors in the same building or blocks in the same condominium, as this may affect the calculation of the premium you pay annually.

  • A rented apartment located on the ground floor is not the one you occupy on the top floor, you must also specify which one is your main residence! (case of a claim in a rented apartment and declared as your principal residence while the insured lives on the same floor)

Key points of the risk visit for merchants

  • In addition to the declared surface area, all the elements related to the premium calculation included in the subscription must be taken into account, such as
    • the precise definition of the activity, opening and closing hours
    • the annual turnover,
    • the number of full-time equivalent employees
    • KBIS, Rental lease in good and due form etc...
  • Presence of fire extinguishers in working order, emergency exits and fire prevention instructions (storage place...) Standards have been established by the NCPC.
  • The means of protection may be more restrictive:
    • The installation of burglar-retardant glazing on the facade (laminated or not, quality of glass products specified)
    • Number of anchor points on main doors and secondary accesses,
    • Grids or other mechanical defence systems placed on the front and other openings,
    • An alarm system connected to a central monitoring station or not,
    • An annual maintenance contract for the alarm system or not etc...

I have to repeat myself but it is necessary to reread all the documents that make up the contract (the general, special and sometimes special conditions subscribed to in professional multi-risk), to find out about the updating of the contracts regularly.

Then you can check whether your benefit limits and requirements mentioned, correspond to your needs before the claim.

If you have any doubts, do not hesitate to contact your insurer. It is a shame not to have revised your coverage limits between the subscription and the date of the loss. Then it will be too late!

Application of the proportional premium rule

Article L 121-5 of the French Insurance Code states that

"If it is estimated that the value of the insured thing exceeds the sum insured on the day of the loss, the insured person shall be deemed to remain his own insurer for the excess, and shall accordingly bear a proportionate share of the loss, unless otherwise agreed".

In other words, in the event of non-compliance, there could be the application of the proportional premium rule, i.e. your indemnity will be reduced in proportion to what you would have had to pay if you had declared the reality (in good faith or not).

At my level, I can say that in practice these rules have become more flexible for some insurers in the market place who wish to change their approach to claims settlement and accompany their clients in these difficult times rather than apply a sanction.

CONCLUSION

With diplomacy, the Expert must therefore gather all this information in order to transmit it to his principal who will decide what action to take.

Our regular practice of claims management with many companies and insurance companies, allows us to target all the key points of the risk visit before the claim, as part of prevention, and help you to evaluate your different types of Fine Art and other content.

 

Write and press Enter to search

Shopping cart
Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this

A quoi sert une “visite de risque” ?

Posted in Assurance

Alors que nous avons rendez-vous sur site pour un sinistre, je me dois de visiter toutes les pièces de l’habitation et entrer dans la vie intime des assurés. A juste titre, l’assuré s’interroge sur cette démarche plus encore lorsque je prends des photographies ou les mesures des surfaces de chaque pièce avant même d’aborder les circonstances de l’évènement. Imaginez la tension qui se fait sentir lorsque le garage ou la mezzanine ont été aménagées en pièces d’habitation et non déclarées à l’assureur, volontairement ou non. Idem chez le commerçant qui referme sa devanture par un cadenas.

Quelles sont les conséquences de la non conformité de la visite de risque sur l’indemnisation d’un sinistre ?

Sur nos rapports d’expertise, la Compagnie d’Assurance réclame à l’Expert en tout premier point le compte rendu de sa “vérification du risque” autrement dit le contrôle des surfaces et du nombre réel de pièces par rapport à celles déclarées par l’assuré lors de la souscription du contrat d’assurance multirisque habitation. Concernant les moyens de protections sur la porte d’entrée et les fenêtres, l’assuré doit se conformer aux exigences prévues, davantage encore pour les commerçants.

Les indemnisations les plus importantes versées aux assurés concernent les sinistres incendie, 1,4 millards d’€ en 2016 selon le tableau de bord de la Fédération Française des Assurances, il est important de vérifier également pour lui que les moyens de prévention dans ce domaine soient bien mis en place (extincteurs).

Fréquemment, nous sommes donc amenés à déclarer une non conformité sur le nombre de pièces visitées (en plus ou en moins) et/ou dans les moyens de protections mis en place avant le sinistre et /ou autres points déclarés lors de la souscription. Simple oubli de mise à jour ou fausse déclaration ?

Les points clés de la visite de risque pour le particulier

  • La déclaration du nombre de pièces habitables :
    • La définition même de la pièce habitable varie selon les assureurs voire contrats au sein d’une même compagnie; c’est la raison pour laquelle je vous invite systématiquement à vous reporter à vos conditions générales et particulières de votre contrat d’assurance dans tous mes articles.
  • Généralement: il est question de prendre en compte la surface au sol seule (0 m2 à 9m2)
    • si la surface dépasse 40 m2, la pièce compte pour 2 pièces principales voire 3 si elle dépasse 80 m2.
    • La hauteur sous plafond n’est pas toujours un facteur déterminant;
      • parfois la surface seule au sol suffit pour qualifier la pièce comptant dans le calcul de la prime,
      • parfois il faut calculer et ne retenir que la surface habitable sous hauteur de plafond à 2 mètres du sol.
  • ainsi que de la destination de la pièce :
    • certaines pièces telles que le dressing ou lingerie ou véranda peuvent être exclues ou non.
    • Par exemple:
      • un dressing de 7 m2 peut compter comme une pièce chez un assureur ou non chez un autre.
      • La cuisine n’est pas comptée comme pièce principale sauf dans certains cas si la surface est supérieure à celle définie dans le contrat !
    • Casse tête particulier: l’entrée, séjour et cuisine à l’américaine situés dans le même espace …
  • Les moyens de fermeture exigés sur la porte d’entrée sont parfois détaillées dans le contrat
  • Le verrou de sûreté à bouton pourtant le plus couramment utilisé ne s’insère pas directement dans l’encadrement de la porte. Par simple poussée, la porte peut s’ouvrir facilement; il ne s’agit pas d’un point d’ancrage au sens strict mais un point de fermeture.
  • Les moyens de protections exigés aux fenêtres et portes fenêtres tels que des volets ou barreaux sont parfois mentionnés dans votre contrat (un écartement maximal peut être exigé, si si !)
  • la valeur du contenu mobilier est un point clé pour déterminer les plafonds de garantie selon les catégories de biens: objets de valeur ou bijoux. La Compagnie HISCOX propose un nouveau service “Fine Art” avec évaluation gracieuse de 10 objets précieux au choix de l’assuré.
  • D’autres points sont à préciser selon les compagnies : quelles sont les personnes ayant la qualité d’assuré et résidant sur les lieux en tant que résidence principale ou secondaire,  présence ou non de cheminée, d’insert, de panneaux photovoltaïques, piscine, le bâtiment et l’étage de l’appartement, l’environnement (zone habitée ou non…) et autres points.

En résumé, il est préférable de préciser à votre assureur tous les changements survenus depuis la souscription, même si vous changez d’étage dans le même immeuble ou de bloc dans la même copropriété car cela peut avoir une incidence sur le calcul de la prime que vous payez annuellement.

  • Un appartement loué situé au rez de chaussée n’est pas celui que vous occupez au dernier étage, il faut aussi préciser lequel constitue votre résidence principale ! (cas traité d’un sinistre dans un appartement loué et déclaré comme résidence principale alors que l’assuré habite le même palier)

Les points clés de la visite de risque pour les commerçants

  • En plus de la surface déclarée, il faudra prendre en compte tous les éléments liés au calcul de la prime figurant sur la souscription tels que
    • la définition précise de l’activité, les horaires d’ouverture et fermeture
    • le chiffre d’affaire annuel,
    • le nombre d’employés équivalents temps plein
    • KBIS, Bail de location en bonne et dûe forme etc..
  • Présence d’extincteurs en état de fonctionner, issues de secours et consignes pour la prévention de l’incendie (lieu de stockage…) Des normes ont été établies par le CNPP.
  • Les moyens de protection peuvent être davantage contraignants:
    • La mise en place de vitrages retardateurs d’effraction sur la devanture (feuilleté ou non, qualité des produits verriers précisés)
    • Nombre de points d’ancrages sur les portes principales et accès secondaires,
    • Grilles ou autres systèmes mécaniques de défense posés sur la devanture et autres ouvertures,
    • Un système d’alarme relié à une centrale de télésurveillance ou non,
    • Un contrat d’entretien annuel du système d’alarme ou non etc…

Je dois me répéter mais il est nécessaire de relire l’ensemble des pièces constituant le contrat (les conditions générales, particulières, et parfois spéciales souscrites en multirisques professionnels), se renseigner sur la réactualisation des contrats régulièrement.

Ensuite, vous pouvez vérifier si vos plafonds de garanties et exigences mentionnées,  correspondent à vos besoins avant le sinistre.

En cas de doutes, n’hésitez pas à contacter votre assureur, Il est dommage de ne pas avoir révisé vos plafonds de garantie entre la souscription et la date du sinistre. Ensuite,il sera trop tard !

Application de la règle proportionnelle de prime

L’article L 121-5 du Code des Assurances précise

“S’il résulte des estimations que la valeur de la chose assurée excède au jour du sinistre la somme garantie, l’assuré est considéré comme restant son propre assureur pour l’excédent, et supporte, en conséquence, une part proportionnelle du dommage, sauf convention contraire”.

Autrement dit en cas de non conformité, il pourrait donc y avoir l’application de la règle proportionnelle de prime c’est à dire que votre indemnité sera réduite en proportion de ce que vous auriez du payer si vous aviez déclaré la réalité (de bonne foi ou non).

A mon niveau, je peux dire qu’en pratique ces règles se sont assouplies pour certains assureurs de la place qui désirent modifier leur approche en matière de règlement de sinistres et accompagner leurs clients dans ces moments difficiles plutôt que d’appliquer une sanction.

CONCLUSION

Avec diplomatie, l’Expert doit donc recueillir toutes ces informations pour les transmettre à son mandant qui décidera de la suite à donner.

Notre pratique régulière de la gestion des sinistres auprès de nombreuses sociétés et compagnies d’assurance, nous permet de cibler tous les points clés de la visite de risque avant le sinistre, dans le cadre de la prévention, et vous aider à évaluer vos différents types de contenus Fine Art et autres.

 

Ecrivez et appuyez sur Entrer pour rechercher

Panier
Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this