To be of his time

Posted in Art market

To go further, I have just read 3 books rich in information to understand the acceleration of the evolutions of the contemporary art market over the last 10 years:

Lighting on the operation of a system

With the lucid analyses delivered by professionals, it emerges, for example, that French artists (and their supporters) find themselves excluded from an international system dominated by investors and art galleries that tend to put forward their financial interests.

  • We are no longer talking about Beauty, History, Works of Art, but about the work of reflection carried out by this or that artist, which is translated into "pieces", "installations", "performances".
  • Some artists were thus propelled at the beginning of their career and were not able to master their coast afterwards. Others, on the contrary, completely get off the "radars" because they do not fit into the "mould" of thought often "frozen" by the all-powerful "curators" (translate "curator").

Warning: to understand contemporary art, drop all references to easel painting: a new cycle is born where the spectator participates in the elaboration of the work. It is therefore necessary to be initiated and invest time to understand this new artistic language before making up one's own mind.

  • The tree that hides the forest:
    • The artists known in relation to auction records are not representative of the entire production but rather the reflection of a system between collectors, gallery owners, investors, institutions". The average price of a work of art is around €5,000, far from the spectacular soaring prices.
  • The collector of contemporary art wants to "be of his time" and to show that he can offer himself such an artist whose displayed and known coast is exposed like a "Trophy", according to Frederic ELKAIM. It is also the success of corporate collections (LVMH group collaboration with known artists whose results are more or less happy).

3 different approaches depending on the author's background

  • Frédéric ELKAIM, founder ofArt Now! proposes to accompany us (at last those who seek to understand) towards the contemporary artistic universe. It works sincerely towards a democratic access open to all.
    • In his book, there are no silly questions, no taboos, he dissects all the prejudices we feel. This hindrance to understanding for those who do not frequent the milieu, closes the actors in a microcosm that is difficult to penetrate and that they maintain by the absence of mediation most of the time. But let's be positive, it's our turn to shake up conventions.
    • With humour, his subjective lexicon to learn how to "speak contemporary art" is a delight and saves us from "nerdism" (thank you Frédéric!).
  • Nathalie OBADIA, "represents contemporary and French artists and participates in about ten international fairs" she explains perfectly the strategic stakes of "soft power" used wisely by the great economic powers.
    • After Rothko and Wharol's America, why are Europe and China having trouble convincing?
    • I liked his chapter on "collectors, at the center of the game" which says a lot about our tastes and the social group we belong to... Buying to show or assuming one's choices?
  • The Ministry of Culture details its quantified survey of collectors conducted in 2014;
    • the main motivations and profiles are multiple:
      • economic (return)
      • social satisfactions (possession of work: entering a socially desired group, satisfaction from the exchange with the members of the group ...)
      • collectors become producers by commissioning works (for private or public institutions)

In short, thanks to these recent analyses, we can follow the history of art writing a new chapter; what will remain of the highlights at the beginning of the 21st century?

I don't care, you have to "Be in your own time". Seeing contemporary creation and understanding movement is the reason for my visit to Monaco Art Week first edition last April: the tours in galleries and auction rooms, in addition to the PAD art + design show, meet the expectations of a new clientele that I may become!

Write and press Enter to search

Shopping cart
Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this

Etre de son temps

Posted in Marché de l'art

Pour aller plus loin, je viens de lire 3 ouvrages riches d’enseignements pour comprendre l’accélération des évolutions du marché de l’art contemporain depuis les 10 dernières années:

Eclairage sur le fonctionnement d’un système

Avec les analyses lucides livrées par des professionnels, il ressort par exemple que les artistes français (et leurs soutiens) se retrouvent exclus d’un système international dominé par des investisseurs et des galeries d’art ayant tendance à mettre en avant leurs intérêts financiers.

  • On ne parle plus du Beau, d’Histoire, d’Oeuvre d’Art mais du travail de réflexion mené par tel ou tel artiste qui se traduit par des “pièces”, “installations”, “performances”.
  • Certains artistes ont ainsi été propulsés au début de leur carrière et n’ont pas pu maîtriser leur côte par la suite. D’autres au contraire sortent complètement des “radars” car ils n’entrent pas dans le “moule” de la pensée souvent “figée” par les touts puissants “curators” (traduisez commissaire d’exposition).

Avertissement: pour comprendre l’art contemporain, laissez donc tomber toutes les références à la peinture de chevalet :  un nouveau cycle est né où le spectateur participe à l’élaboration de l’oeuvre. Il faut donc être Initié et investir du temps pour comprendre ce nouveau langage artistique avant de se faire sa propre opinion.

  • L’arbre qui cache la forêt:
    • Les artistes connus par rapport aux records de vente aux enchères ne sont pas représentatifs de l’ensemble de la production mais plutôt le reflet d’un système entre les collectionneurs, galéristes, investisseurs, institutions”. Ainsi il faut savoir que le prix moyen d’une oeuvre d’art s’établit plutôt autour de 5 000 €, loin des envolées spectaculaires.
  • Le collectionneur d’art contemporain se veut “être de son temps” et montrer qu’il peut s’offrir tel artiste dont la côte affichée et connue s’expose tel un “Trophée”, selon Frédéric ELKAIM. C’est aussi le succès des collections d’entreprise (collaboration groupe LVMH avec des artistes connus dont le résultats est plus ou moins heureux).

3 approches différentes selon le parcours de l’auteur

  • Frédéric ELKAIM, fondateur d’Art Now! se propose de nous (enfin ceux qui cherchent à comprendre) accompagner vers l’univers artistique contemporain. Il oeuvre sincèrement vers un accès démocratique et ouvert à tous.
    • Dans son livre, pas de questions idiotes, pas de tabous, justement il décortique tous les préjugés que nous ressentons. Ce frein à la compréhension pour ceux qui ne fréquentent pas le milieu, referme les acteurs dans un microcosme difficile à percer et qu’ils entretiennent par l’absence de médiation la plupart du temps. Mais soyons positifs, à notre tour de bousculer les conventions.
    • Avec humour, son lexique subjectif pour apprendre à “parler l’art contemporain” est un régal et nous sauve de la “ringardise” (merci Frédéric!).
  • Nathalie OBADIA, “représente des artistes contemporains et français et participe à une dizaine de foires internationales” elle explique parfaitement les enjeux stratégiques du “soft power” utilisés à bon escient par les grandes puissances économiques.
    • Après l’Amérique de Rothko et Wharol, pourquoi l’Europe et la Chine ont du mal à convaincre ?
    • J’ai aimé son chapitre sur les “collectionneurs, au centre du jeu” qui en dit long sur nos goûts et le groupe social auquel nous appartenons… Acheter pour montrer ou assumer ses choix ?
  • Le Ministère de la Culture détaille son enquête chiffrée sur les collectionneurs menée en 2014;
    • les principales motivations et profils sont multiples:
      • économiques (rendement)
      • satisfactions sociales (possession d’oeuvre: entrer dans un groupe socialement désiré, satisfaction issues de l’échange avec les membres du groupe …)
      • les collectionneurs deviennent producteur en commandant des oeuvres (pour des institutions privée ou publiques)

En résumé, grâce à ces analyses récentes, nous pouvons suivre l’histoire de l’art écrivant un nouveau chapitre; que restera-t-il de marquants au début du XXIème siècle ?

Peu m’importe, il faut “Etre de son temps”. Voir la création contemporaine et comprendre le mouvement c’est la raison de ma visite à Monaco Art Week première édition en avril dernier : les parcours en galeries et salle de vente, en plus du Salon PAD art + design répondent aux attentes d’une nouvelle clientèle dont je vais peut être devenir !

Ecrivez et appuyez sur Entrer pour rechercher

Panier
Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this