Preliminary expertise of luxury branded objects: price difference for resale, insurance or inheritance

Posted in Insurance

How does a preliminary assessment take place? What are the frequently asked questions on this subject?

On the occasion of the start of the new school year in September 2018, I was approached by several people who had different needs:

  • Before a new subscription, the insurance agent asks for a detailed inventory of the movable property and precious objects in order to propose the appropriate limit of cover.
  • In another case, it was a question of knowing the value of a luxury brand ring to resell it; Which network to choose: public auction room, Internet marketplace or specialized boutique?
  • A detailed inventory of furniture and precious objects can also be useful for inheritance or tax purposes.

A relationship of trust for valuing movable and valuable assets

Although we are connected to FaceTime or other Skype, nothing replaces the eye and the hand! Advice and confidentiality are important to us. The written trace remains the best proof of the existence and value of the object in complete confidentiality.

After an initial contact by email and then by phone, we can define a perimeter of intervention according to the number and type of objects to be estimated.

  • COMPLETION OF A COMPLETE INVENTORY ON SITE FOR INSURANCE OR ESTATE PURPOSES

It is a question of going around each room to take note of the main objects: furniture, objects in showcases, collections, dressing rooms... detailing the state of each one, taking a photograph.

Sometimes a partial inventory has already been carried out and some recent purchase invoices are available; in these cases, a new file of the main items of value must be established. This allows us to update the information.

  • An initial on-site appointment of 2 hours on average allows us to contact the applicant and to specify the purpose of the mission entrusted to us: expertise for insurance, inheritance, tax and/or resale purposes. The evaluation is significantly different according to the 3 fields.
  • Once the object(s) have been taken in hand in situ, a minimum estimate is proposed, the details of which are given below.
  • One or more appointments can thus be scheduled in the days or weeks following the first contact, if necessary.

Usually the appointment is made within 2 weeks after the first telephone contact and the report is delivered within 3 weeks after the appointment.

  • A CERTIFICATE MAY BE USEFUL FOR THE PURPOSE OF RESELLING OBJECTS

  • An appointment in our premises in Le Cannet or Toulon can be scheduled.

Similarly, all the public auction houses in your regions offer free appraisals one day of the week. Do not hesitate to meet an auctioneer in his office, which is usually open half a day a week for free appraisals.

In the case of valuable objects, a certificate of authenticity or laboratory analysis allows the nature of the object to be specified and its value to be refined. In comparison with other sales of similar goods, the Expert establishes a price range between a low and high estimate, taking into account the costs which may be applied.

Accompanying and sending the objects to analysis laboratories with insurance is possible. For example, a diamond can be serviced and sent to the gemmology analysis laboratory in Paris or abroad with a private carrier.

We can also help you to contact the artist's committees in order to obtain references on the artist's catalogue raisonné.

  • SPECIAL CASE OF THE EVALUATION OF A DRESSING ROOM WITH LUXURY BRANDED OBJECTS

Male and female, the dressing room is a new social issue. According to "Management et Marketing du Luxe" by Michel Chevalier and Gérald Mazalovo, Editions DUNOD 2015, the second-hand market for luxury, vintage and watch brand clothing and fashion accessories is growing in billions of dollars worldwide because it is actually aimed at the middle classes. Luxury has become accessible to an intermediate social category on the 5 continents.

The theft claims we have been handling for insurance companies for the past 15 years have made it possible to track the value of certain models of watches, jewellery and accessories and their replacement value on the day of the loss.

After a telephone interview, an estimate and an appointment on the spot can be proposed.

The benefits

Applying a percentage of the total estimated value remains a vague method, even though it is customary; as the claimant and the Expert do not know in advance the total amount of the estimate, it seems difficult to propose an estimate without having made a visit to the premises or having taken possession of the objects to be appraised.

Auctioneers base their prices on the public sale prices of comparable objects. However, auction houses are competing with online sales networks; who can be contacted to obtain a better price depending on the type of object? We can help you in this approach on different networks.

For the realization of a complete inventory for inheritance purposes, our firm offers an initial fee of 1,500 euros up to a valuation of 80,000 euros for an inventory delivered with photographs, carried out by an auctioneer and/or a qualified gemmologist, including travel expenses on the Côte d'Azur region.

We remain at your disposal for any study of quotation concerning the tranches above 80 000 € and in partnership on other regions.

If you need advice in order to buy or sell an object, a personalised estimate can be made on request by telephone.

  • In the case of valuation of objects for resale, several solutions can be proposed; there are websites or networks of specialised resellers on the second-hand market.
  • In the latter case, the commission costs linked to the purchase or sale (which can range from 10 to 35%) depending on the resale network chosen: specialist shops, websites or public auction rooms, to be modulated, of course, according to volume and unit price.

For any further information, do not hesitate to contact us!

 

Write and press Enter to search

Shopping cart
Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this

Expertise préalable des objets de marques de luxe : différence de prix pour la revente, l’assureur ou la succession

Posted in Assurance

Comment se déroule une expertise préalable ? Quelles sont les questions fréquentes posées à ce sujet ?

A l’occasion de cette rentrée de septembre 2018, j’ai été sollicitée par plusieurs personnes qui avaient des besoins différents:

  • Avant une nouvelle souscription, l’agent d’assurance réclame un inventaire détaillé des biens mobiliers et objets précieux afin de proposer le plafond de garantie adapté.
  • Dans un autre cas, il s’agissait de connaitre la valeur d’une bague de marque de luxe pour la revendre; Quel réseau choisir : salle de vente publique, marketplace sur Internet ou boutique spécialisée ?
  • Un inventaire détaillé du mobilier et objets précieux peut également être utile dans le cadre successoral ou fiscal.

Une relation de confiance pour estimer les biens mobiliers et précieux

Bien que nous soyons connectés à des FaceTime ou autre Skype, rien ne remplace l’oeil et la main ! Le conseil et la confidentialité sont des valeurs importantes pour nous. La trace écrite reste la meilleure preuve de l’existence et de la valeur de l’objet en toute confidentialité.

Après un premier contact par messagerie puis téléphonique, nous pouvons définir un périmètre d’intervention en fonction du nombre et type d’objets à estimer.

  • REALISATION D’UN INVENTAIRE COMPLET SUR PLACE AUX FINS D’ASSURANCE OU SUCCESSORAL

Il s’agit de faire le tour de chaque pièce pour relever les objets principaux: meubles, objets de vitrines, collections, dressing… détailler l’état de chacun, prendre une photographie.

Parfois un inventaire partiel a déjà été réalisé et certaines factures d’achats récentes sont disponibles; il s’agit alors d’établir un nouveau dossier réunissant les principaux objets de valeur. Nous pouvons ainsi procéder à une mise à jour des informations.

  • Un premier rendez sur place de 2 heures en moyenne permet de prendre contact avec le demandeur et de préciser l’objet de la mission confiée: expertise aux fins d’assurance, successoral, fiscal et/ou pour la revente. L’évaluation est sensiblement différente selon les 3 domaines.
  • Après la prise en main du ou des objets in situ, un devis minimal est proposé, dont le détail figure plus bas.
  • Un ou plusieurs rendez vous peuvent être ainsi programmés dans les jours ou semaines suivantes du premier contact, si nécessaire.

Généralement, la prise de rendez-vous s’effectue dans les deux semaines après le premier contact téléphonique et la remise du rapport dans les 3 semaines après le rendez vous.

  • UN CERTIFICAT PEUT ÊTRE UTILE DANS LE BUT DE LA REVENTE D’OBJETS

  • Un rendez vous dans nos locaux du Cannet ou Toulon peut être programmé.

De même, toutes les salles de vente publiques dans vos régions proposent une expertise gratuite un jour de la semaine. N’hésitez pas à rencontrer un commissaire priseur dans son étude en général ouverte une demie journée par semaine pour des expertises gratuites.

A savoir que pour des objets de valeurs, un certificat d’authenticité ou d’analyse en laboratoire, permet de préciser la nature de l’objet et d’en affiner la valeur. Par comparaison avec d’autres ventes de biens similaires, l’Expert établit une fourchette de prix entre une estimation basse et haute en tenant compte des frais pouvant être appliqués.

L’accompagnement et l’envoi des objets à des laboratoires d’analyses avec assurance est possible. Par exemple, un diamant peut être desserti et envoyé au laboratoire d’analyse de gemmologie à Paris ou étranger avec transporteur privé.

Nous pouvons également vous aider à contacter les comités d’artiste afin d’obtenir des références sur le catalogue raisonné de l’artiste.

  • CAS PARTICULIER DE L’EVALUATION D’UN DRESSING AVEC OBJETS DE MARQUES DE LUXE

Masculin et féminin, le dressing est un nouvel enjeu de société. Selon Management et Marketing du Luxe”  par Michel Chevalier et Gérald Mazalovo, Editions DUNOD 2015, le marché de l’occasion des vêtements et accessoires de mode de marques de luxe, vintage, montres ne cesse de progresser en milliards de dollars dans le monde car il s’adresse aux classes moyennes en réalité. Le luxe est devenu accessible pour une catégorie sociale intermédiaire sur les 5 continents.

Les sinistres vols que nous traitons depuis 15 ans pour le compte des compagnies d’assurance, ont permis de suivre la côte de certains modèles de montres, bijoux et accessoires et leur valeur à neuf au jour du sinistre.

Après entretien téléphonique, un devis et un rendez vous sur place pourra être proposé.

Les prestations

Appliquer un pourcentage sur la valeur totale estimée reste une méthode floue et pourtant d’usage; le demandeur et l’Expert ne connaissant pas à l’avance le montant total de l’estimation, il parait difficile de proposer un devis sans avoir effectué un déplacement sur les lieux ni une prise en main des objets à expertiser.

Les commissaires priseurs se basent sur les prix en vente publique d’objets comparables. Cependant les salles de vente sont concurrencées par des réseaux de vente en ligne; à qui s’adresser pour obtenir un meilleur prix selon le type d’objet ? Nous pouvons vous aider dans cette approche sur différents réseaux.

Pour la réalisation d’un inventaire complet dans un but successoral, notre Cabinet propose une première tarification à hauteur 1 500 euros jusqu’à une valorisation de 80 000 euros pour un inventaire remis avec photographies, réalisé par un commissaire priseur et/ou un gemmologue diplômé, frais de déplacement compris sur la région Côte d’Azur.

Nous restons à disposition pour toute étude de devis concernant les tranches au dessus de 80 000 € et en partenariat sur d’autres régions.

Si vous avez un besoin de conseils dans le but d’acheter ou de vendre d’un objet, un devis personnalisé peut être réalisé sur demande par téléphone.

  • Dans le cas d’estimation d’objets destinés à la revente, plusieurs solutions peuvent être proposées; il existe des sites internet ou réseaux de revendeurs spécialisés sur le marché de l’occasion.
  • Dans ce dernier cas, les frais de commission liés à l’achat ou la vente (pouvant aller de 10 à 35%) selon le réseau de revente choisi : boutiques spécialisées, sites Internet ou salles de vente publiques à moduler bien sûr en fonction du volume et du prix unitaire.

Pour toute information complémentaire, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter !

 

Ecrivez et appuyez sur Entrer pour rechercher

Panier
Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this