Not to be missed Pierre SOULAGES
Pierre Soulage's mysterious abstract black paining with white line
Posted in FavouriteExhibitions

Not to be missed Pierre SOULAGES

To celebrate the 💯ème anniversary of his birth in Rodez, three major exhibitions were organized in France at the beginning of the year. All the specialist press rightly celebrated the success of his worldwide career. A master of abstraction and "l'outrenoir", Pierre Soulages caused a shock wave in intellectual and multidisciplinary circles as early as the 1960s. In his work, don't look for a message or a representation; he confronts us with the movement of his black painting.

Of course, each of us feels rather positive or negative emotions, but certainly very strong.

After the Louvre and Rodez, the event in Nice

The Alpes Maritimes Departmental Council presented a free exhibition of Pierre Soulages from February 8 to April 19, 2020. Interrupted in full success story last Sunday, the health crisis of Covid-19 forces us to change our behaviours. The exhibition had gathered 16,000 visitors in just 5 weeks, according to the article published in Nice Matin. The people of Nice, including me, were in a hurry to discover this master of contemporary painting on the Côte d'Azur.

In a refurbished building, the former prison, renamed "Galerie Lympia", is the perfect place to exhibit the essence of his work. The Lympia port is located in the heart of several historical monuments dating back to the foundation of the city Nikkaia by the Greeks. The many captivated visitors seemed quite silent as if they were in a sacred place.

All the conditions were in place to live the Experience, as we now say in marketing, in front of the 72 original works painted and engraved by the artist between 1946 and 2008.

"The creative power of Pierre Soulages"

The selection of works made by the curator of the exhibition, Gérard BOSIO, has been narrowed down to each representative period, which is perfect in terms of pedagogy to understand the stages of its creation.

This new painting is described as "mysterious beauty". Its deliberate choice for the study of light reflected from black surfaces can be confusing. He uses house painter's materials such as walnut stain used to cover the wood, large brushes.

Each work gives us something to think about ourselves. What do we see in ourselves? How do these black surfaces resonate in our imagination?

Oddly enough, there's never a dull moment. He does "Corps à corps", struggles with matter by playing with more or less thickness, various types of traces, the effects of light...

My feeling

At the beginning I confess that I was destabilized, that's why I felt a certain "uneasiness" in front of this conception of the dark emptiness or whatever. Was it a form of representation of the black hole of the universe? or of nothingness? of infinity?

In short, "philosophical" notions invaded my brain in spite of myself, I came first to entertain myself and here I am confronted with the meaning of my life!

Then, this certainly unexpected inner turmoil, I now know that I owe it to this exhibition forever engraved in my mind and heart.

My favourite painting is shown here in a photo, entitled "Painting, 160×114 cm, 9.11.2008". This work made me realize that I needed to visualize even a tiny perspective. In all this darkness, these fine horizontal white interstices appear to me as a hope. These interstices let me imagine that another world is possible.

Although virtual tours are now being considered, there is nothing like experimenting with the work as dimensions and shapes can change our perception. In particular this copper plate pierced by acid, presented as a stele!

Here we are back to the eternal theme of Art and the sacred.

Let's pray that we can go back there together.

There are no comments

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are indicated with *.

Write and press Enter to search

Shopping cart

Incontournable Pierre SOULAGES
Pierre Soulage's mysterious abstract black paining with white line
Posted in Coup de coeurExpositions

Incontournable Pierre SOULAGES

Pour célébrer le 💯ème anniversaire de sa naissance à Rodez, trois grandes expositions étaient organisées en France en ce début d’année. Toute la presse spécialisée a célébré à juste titre le succès de sa carrière mondiale. Maître de l’abstraction et de “l’outrenoir”, Pierre Soulages provoque une onde de choc dans les milieux intellectuels et pluridisciplinaires dès les années 1960. Dans son oeuvre, ne cherchez pas un message, ni représentation; il nous met face au mouvement de sa peinture noire.

Evidemment, chacun d’entre nous ressent des émotions plutôt positives ou négatives mais à coup sûr, très fortes.

Après le Louvre et Rodez, l’évènement à Nice

Le Conseil départemental des Alpes Maritimes présentait une exposition gratuite de Pierre Soulages du 8 février au 19 avril 2020. Interrompue en pleine succes story dimanche dernier, la crise sanitaire du Covid-19 nous oblige à changer nos comportements.  L’exposition avait réuni 16 000 visiteurs en 5 semaines à peine, selon l’article paru dans Nice Matin. Les niçois y compris moi, étions pressés de découvrir ce Maître de la peinture contemporaine sur la Côte d’Azur.

Dans un bâtiment réaménagé, l’ancien bagne rebaptisé “Galerie Lympia”, est le lieu parfait pour exposer l’essence de son oeuvre. Le port Lympia se situe au coeur de plusieurs monuments historiques remontant à la fondation de la ville Nikkaia par les Grecs. Les nombreux visiteurs captivés semblaient bien silencieux comme s’ils se trouvaient dans un lieu sacré.

Toutes les conditions étaient réunies pour vivre l’Expérience, comme on dit maintenant en marketing, face aux 72 oeuvres originales peintes et gravées par l’artiste entre 1946 et 2008.

“La puissance créatrice de Pierre Soulages”

La sélection des oeuvres effectuée par le commissaire de l’exposition, Gérard BOSIO, s’est resserrée sur chaque période représentative; ce qui est parfait en terme de pédagogie pour comprendre les étapes de sa création.

Cette nouvelle peinture est qualifiée “de beauté mystérieuse”. Son choix délibéré pour l’étude de la lumière réfléchie sur des surfaces noires peut être déroutant. Il utilise des matériaux de peintre en bâtiment comme le brou de noix utilisé pour recouvrir le bois, de larges brosses.

Or chaque oeuvre nous donne à réfléchir sur nous-même. Que voyons nous en nous ? Comment ces surfaces noires résonnent dans notre imaginaire ?

Curieusement, on ne s’ennuie jamais. Il fait “Corps à corps”, lutte avec la matière en jouant sur plus ou moins d’épaisseur, diverses types de traces, les effets de la lumière…

Mon ressenti

Au départ j’avoue avoir été déstabilisée, c’est pourquoi j’ai ressenti un certain “malaise” devant cette conception du sombre du vide ou de ne je sais quoi. Etait-ce une forme de représentation du trou noir de l’univers ? ou du néant ? de l’infini ?

Bref, des notions “philosophiques” ont envahi mon cerveau malgré moi,  je venais d’abord me divertir et me voici confrontée au sens de ma vie !

Ensuite, ce bouleversement intérieur certainement inattendu, je sais maintenant que je le dois à cette exposition à jamais gravée dans mon esprit et mon coeur.

Mon tableau préféré est ici en photo, intitulé “Peinture, 160×114 cm, 9.11.2008”. Cette oeuvre m’a permis de réaliser que j’avais besoin de visualiser une perspective même infime. Dans tout ce noir, ces fins interstices blancs horizontaux m’apparaissent alors comme une espérance. Ces interstices laissent imaginer qu’un autre monde est possible.

Bien que des visites virtuelles soient maintenant envisagées, rien ne vaut l’expérimentation face à l’oeuvre car les dimensions et les formes peuvent modifier notre perception. En particulier cette plaque de cuivre trouée par l’acide, présentée comme une stèle !

Nous voilà revenu au thème éternel de l’Art et du sacré.

Prions pour que nous puissions retourner sur place ensemble.

Il n'y a aucun commentaire

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ecrivez et appuyez sur Entrer pour rechercher

Panier