Picasso Ceramics Awards and Madoura Workshops
Posted in InsuranceExpertisesExhibitionsArt market

Picasso Ceramics Awards and Madoura Workshops

Insurance companies send me mission orders following an accidental fall of works of art. Two of them concern ceramics signed "Picasso" (1881-1973) "Madoura". It is a ceramics workshop founded by the couple Suzanne DOULY and Georges RAMIE after the Second World War, in Vallauris. Madoura is composed of the first syllables of the two surnames.

The short story

In 1946, while staying in GULF JUAN, Pablo PICASSO wanted to visit an exhibition "Pottery, flowers and perfumes" in the nearby town. This is how he arrived in VALLAURIS.

Franck LECLERC, journalist at NICE MATIN, writes in his article "On the traces of PICASSO in Vallauris". "As tradition demands, the RAMIE couple holds out a ball of earth to their host in which two bulls and a fauna are immediately shaped. The following summer, when he returns to Vallauris, he discovers the 3 baked pieces. It is a revelation".

Dominique Sassi starts as an apprentice in the MADOURA workshop. Then he continues his career to "recreate" the works of PICASSO. He recounts the technical and artistic evolution of this period. Thus, he testifies in a book entitled "Dans l'ombre de PICASSO, 20 ans aux côtés du maître" (In the shadow of PICASSO, 20 years at the master's side) published in 2015.

Compensation for valuables

The insurance company's mission order requires us to verify the circumstances before validating the guarantee.

In some cases, the "civil liability" or "defence recourse" cover of the multi-risk housing policy is activated depending on whether you are responsible for or injured by the event. After having established the circumstances, it is advisable to look for the price of the broken object or its equivalent, on the day of the loss, on the second-hand market. In other words, we proceed by comparison with similar objects in public auction houses. In the case of PICASSO, the databases are quite extensive. However, there are nuances to be known for certain rarer models.

The steep rise in the number of ceramic plates signed PICASSO and MADOURA since 2013

The interest of the Expert's profession is to go and check the prices to adjust his valuation with the trends of the art market.

The success of the EXHIBITION in AUBAGNE "PICASSO ceramist and the Mediterranean" revealed to the general public his work in terracotta. More accessible than his paintings, young collectors have been bidding more clearly since 2013. For example, the models of "owls and owls"" or pairs of "Mr and Mrs" are more and more sought after. In addition, important pieces such as decorative and highly coloured front and back plates are becoming increasingly rare.

We note that works purchased in the years 2000 for amounts between €4,000 and €5,000 are now being negotiated between €15,000 and €20,000. For the oldest models, we find them in smaller quantities. For example, you will find models referenced in Alain Ramié's catalogue raisonné "Picasso, catalogue de l'oeuvre céramique édité 1947-1971". For information, the second-hand price of the catalogue is 2 000 €.

As an example, the auction house LECLERE, auctioneer, published in the Gazette Drouot n°12 of March 24, 2017, its last auctions ranging between €10,000 and €13,000 per plate or dish, while a "tripod" went up to €100,000.

La Maison Auction is selling a "green bullfighting" dish at 7 800 € until 8 May 2017. The study of Me PICHON has just postponed its 3rd edition on the theme "#Ceramic course" at the hotel les Belles Rives in Golfe Juan to July 1st, 2020. From Jean marais to Georges JOUVE, many artists are sought after on the market.

Write and press Enter to search

Shopping cart

Envolée des prix de la céramique Picasso et ateliers Madoura
Posted in AssuranceExpertisesExpositionsMarché de l'art

Envolée des prix de la céramique Picasso et ateliers Madoura

Les compagnies d’assurance m’adressent des ordres de missions à la suite d’une chute accidentelle d’objets d’art. Deux d’entres elles, concernent des céramiques signées “Picasso” (1881-1973)  “Madoura”. Il s’agit d’un atelier de céramique fondé par le couple Suzanne DOULY et Georges RAMIE après la seconde guerre mondiale, à Vallauris. Madoura se compose des premières syllabes des deux noms de famille.

La petite histoire

En 1946, alors qu’il séjourne à GOLFE JUAN, Pablo PICASSO désire visiter une exposition “Poterie, fleurs et parfums” dans la ville voisine. C’est ainsi qu’il arrive à VALLAURIS.

Franck LECLERC, journaliste à NICE MATIN,  écrit dans son article “Sur les traces de PICASSO à Vallauris”. “Comme l’exige la tradition, le couple RAMIE tend à son hôte une boule de terre dans laquelle sont aussitôt modelés deux taureaux et un faune. L’été suivant, lorsqu’il revient à Vallauris, et découvre les 3 pièces cuites. C’est une révélation”.

Dominique Sassi débute en tant qu’apprenti dans l’atelier MADOURA. Ensuite, il poursuit sa carrière à “recréer” les oeuvres de PICASSO. Il raconte l’évolution technique et artistique de cette période. Ainsi, il témoigne dans un livre intitulé “Dans l’ombre de PICASSO, 20 ans aux côtés du maître” publié en 2015.

Indemnisation des objets de valeur

L’ordre de mission de la compagnie d’assurance nous demande de vérifier les circonstances avant de valider la garantie.

Dans certains cas, la garantie “responsabilité civile” ou “défense recours” du contrat multirisque habitation, s’active selon si vous êtes responsable ou lésé de l’évènement. Après avoir établies les circonstances, il convient de rechercher le prix de l’ objet cassé ou son équivalent, au jour du sinistre, sur le marché de l’occasion. En d’autres termes, nous procédons par comparaisons avec des objets similaires dans les salles de ventes publiques. Dans le cas de PICASSO, les bases de données sont assez fournies. Cependant il existe des nuances à connaître pour certains modèles plus rares.

La côte en forte hausse des assiettes en céramiques signées PICASSO et MADOURA depuis 2013

L’intérêt du métier d’Expert est d’aller vérifier les prix pour ajuster son évaluation avec les tendances du marché de l’art.

Le succès de l’EXPOSITION à AUBAGNE  “PICASSO céramiste et la Méditerranée”a révélé au  grand public son oeuvre en terre cuites. D’un prix plus accessibles que ses tableaux, les jeunes collectionneurs surenchérissent plus nettement depuis 2013. Par exemple, les modèles de “chouettes et hiboux”” ou encore des paires de “Monsieur et Madame” sont de plus en plus recherches. En plus, les pièces importantes telles que les plats décoratifs et très colorés recto et verso deviennent de plus en plus rares.

Nous constatons que des oeuvres achetées dans les années 2 000 pour des montants se situant entre 4 000 et 5 000 € se négocient aujourd’hui entre 15 000 et 20 000 euros. Pour les modèles les plus anciens, on les trouve en moindre exemplaires. Par exemple, vous trouverez des modèles référencés dans le catalogue raisonné d’Alain Ramié «Picasso, catalogue de l’oeuvre céramique édité 1947-1971». Pour information, le prix d’occasion du catalogue s’élève à 2 000 €.

A titre d’exemple, la maison de ventes LECLERE, commissaire priseur, a publié dans la Gazette Drouot n°12 du 24 mars 2017, ses dernières adjudications oscillant entre 10 000 et 13 000 € l’assiette ou plat alors qu’un “tripode” s’envolait à 100 000 €.

La Maison Auction met en vente un plat “corrida verte” à 7 800 € jusqu’au 8 Mai 2017. L’étude de Me PICHON vient de reporter sa 3ème édition sur le thème “#Parcourscéramique” à l’hôtel les Belles Rives à Golfe Juan au 1er juillet 2020.  De Jean marais à Georges JOUVE, nombreux artistes sont recherchés sur le marché.

Ecrivez et appuyez sur Entrer pour rechercher

Panier