Cannes Forville market, a flea market a stone's throw from the Croisette

Posted in Exhibitions

Since the primary school of La Ferrage, two blocks from the Croisette, I have lived through the excitement of 50 years of the "International Film Festival" in Cannes. It's a continuous flood of people recognizable by the famous accreditation ribbon and badge opening all the doors. Often dressed in summer clothes, despite the cold and rain alternating with a ray of sunshine, they walk in small groups between hotels and cinemas or restaurant terraces.

Behind "Cannes cinema", our Forville market continues to live at the rhythm of the local population and, as every Monday, the second-hand dealers set up about fifty stands under the hall built in 1934.

A moment with Indian actress Sayani Gupta...

I was humbled by Sayani Gupta, with 71.4 K subscribers on Instagram, who was filming a report for the American channel Fox News.

Actress, model and at the same time journalist, she is capable of interviewing live on her own the antique dealers holding her favourite stalls with kindness and skill. 3 people for sound and image plus 2 personal assistants organize in parallel the contacts that come to her, to valorize this or that shop or product in the sector. Her influence is well perceived by e-commerce insiders who urge her to come to their booth with their business card in hand.

It's hard to believe it works like that. I was surprised by his professionalism both on his outfit, very photogenic on the romantic theme, and his availability and knowledge on the specialized stand of the French and Belgian comics (bought 50 euros the album).

I better understand its success on social networks because of the upstream work to produce beautiful images and regularly renewed content.

Biot's glassware and lighting for less than 100 euros; the choice of a young second-hand goods dealer

Loris is a young second-hand goods dealer at the entrance of the market who offers original window or decorative objects next to lighting fixtures signed by artists who have come under the sun of the French Riviera.

Far from the stands specialising in leather goods and jewellery, he prefers to hunt for showcase or decorative objects offered at affordable prices (70 euros for a sulphide signed by Louis Leloup, Belgian master glassmaker, born in 1929), a sculpted mask in malachite for 50 euros or 4 black lacquer plates inlaid with mother-of-pearl representing flowers and animals for 100 euros.

The art glassware is perpetuated in Biot, thanks to the master glassmakers Novarro Jean Claude, Monod Claude, Pierini Robert, Van Lith Jean-Paul. Women are less valued, as we can see with the works of Luzoro Michèle, who struggles to be valued in public auctions and yet prized by collectors for her remarkable work.

Alongside the International Film Festival born in 1939, according to "a century of Cannes life 1850-1950" published in 2014 by the City of Cannes, after studying the archives, the artistic life of the French Riviera did not weaken throughout the second half of the twentieth century, as recounted by the exhibition "the great workshop of the South from Cézanne to Matisse" at the Granet Museum in Aix en Provence in 2013 for painting. Finding the trace of these artists in our region is a challenge that is bearing fruit.

Let's leave the stamped handbags and jewellery to buy more personalized artwork and other items.

 

 

 

 

 

Write and press Enter to search

Shopping cart
Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this

Cannes marché Forville, une brocante à deux pas de la Croisette

Posted in Expositions

Depuis l’école primaire de la Ferrage placée à deux rues de la Croisette, j’ai vécu l’effervescence de 50 années de “Festival international du film” à Cannes. C’est un déferlement continu de personnes reconnaissables par le fameux ruban et badge d’accréditation ouvrant toutes les portes. Souvent en tenues estivales, malgré le froid et la pluie alternant avec un rayon de soleil, ils se promènent en petits groupes entre hôtels et salles de cinéma ou les terrasses de restaurant.

Derrière “Cannes cinéma”, notre marché Forville continue de vivre au rythme de la population locale et, comme chaque lundis, les brocanteurs installent une cinquantaine de stands sous la halle construite en 1934.

Un instant avec l’actrice indienne Sayani Gupta

J’ai pris une leçon d’humilité devant Sayani Gupta, aux 71,4 K abonnés sur Instagram, qui tournait un reportage pour la chaîne américaine Fox News.

Actrice, modèle et en même temps journaliste, elle est capable d’interviewer seule en direct les brocanteurs tenant ses stands préférés avec gentillesse et habileté. 3 personnes pour la prise du son et l’image plus 2 assistantes personnelles organisent en parallèle les contacts qui se présentent à elle, pour valoriser telle ou telle boutique ou produit du secteur. Son influence est bien perçue par les initiés du e-commerce qui la pressent de passer sur leur stand carte de visite en main.

On a du mal à croire que cela fonctionne ainsi. J’ai été surprise par son professionnalisme tant sur sa tenue, très photogénique sur le thème romantique, que par sa disponibilité et ses connaissances sur le stand spécialisé de la bande dessinée française et belge (acheté 50 euros l’album).

Je comprends mieux son succès sur les réseaux sociaux vu le travail en amont pour produire de belles images et un contenu renouvelé régulièrement.

Verrerie de Biot et luminaires à moins de 100 euros; le choix d’un jeune brocanteur

Loris est un jeune brocanteur installé à l’entrée du marché qui propose des objets de vitrine ou décoratifs originaux à côté de luminaires signés par des artistes venus sous le soleil de la Côte d’Azur.

Loin des stands spécialisés dans la maroquinerie et les bijoux, il préfère chiner des objets de vitrine ou décoratifs proposés à des prix accessibles (70 euros pour une sulfure signée Louis Leloup, maître verrier belge, né en 1929), un masque sculpté en malachite pour 50 euros ou encore 4 plaques en laque noires incrustées de nacre représentant des fleurs et animaux pour 100 euros.

La verrerie d’art se perpétue à Biot, grâce aux maîtres verriers Novarro Jean Claude,  Monod Claude, Pierini Robert, Van Lith Jean-Paul. Les femmes sont moins côtées comme nous pouvons le constater avec les oeuvres de Luzoro Michèle qui peinent à se valoriser dans les ventes aux enchères publiques et pourtant prisée des collectionneurs pour son remarquable travail.

A côté du Festival international du film né en 1939, selon “un siècle de vie cannoise 1850-1950” édité en 2014 par la Ville de cannes, après étude des archives, la vie artistique de la Côte d’azur ne faiblit pas tout au long de la deuxième moitié du XXème siècle comme l’a retracé l’exposition “le grand atelier du Midi de Cézanne à Matisse” au musée Granet d’Aix en Provence en 2013 pour la peinture. Retrouver la trace de ces artistes sur notre région est un challenge qui porte ses fruits.

Quittons les sacs à mains et bijoux estampillés pour acheter des oeuvres d’art et autre objets plus personnalisés.

 

 

 

 

 

Ecrivez et appuyez sur Entrer pour rechercher

Panier
Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this