The synthetic diamond at 800 € per carat, is it over?

diamond
Posted in ExpertisesJewelleryArt market

We had announced €800 per carat in 2019, it is necessary to count at least €1,000 in 2020.

A new market

For the last 2 years, the manufacture of "CVD diamond" or "Chemical Vapor Deposition" has exploded all over the world. It is a new process entirely carried out in laboratory. This method is rapidly becoming established on the world jewellery market thanks to its price and "green" marketing.

The technique was first introduced in the 1950s to meet the demands of the industrial and high-tech sectors. Thanks to its physical properties, mainly hardness, i.e. the highest degree reached on the so-called Mosch scale, synthetic diamond reduced to powder is useful for drilling, sawing and various fields ... according to Diamond Spot.

The objective is to reproduce colourless but also coloured diamonds in the laboratory. They have the same properties as those formed in natural deposits. Consequently, man-made stones become very lucrative for mining companies. To the naked eye, there is no distinction between synthetic and natural diamonds. So much so that the industry has been able to sell them on the market before the discovery of CVD detection techniques about 4 years ago.

It is important to know that other production techniques or purity improvement techniques exist. Just as coloured diamonds are extremely rare to find, they are becoming an issue for their mass production.

Several companies share the world market

Firstly, in June 2018, Futura Sciences magazine headlined "DE BEERS giant, shakes up the jewellery market". Marketed by Lightbox Jewelry, a company based in the United States, synthetic diamonds are sold at €800 per carat in 2019. The manufacturing techniques and prices can be found on their website.

Then, in 2015, the Russian company New Diamond Technology announced to have succeeded in producing a synthetic diamond of 5.11 carats, had announced Marie Chabrol, in her blog the gemmologist.

As a result, several mining companies are moving into synthetic diamond manufacturing. They are testing various processes at the same time to obtain larger diamonds with perfect purity. They also sell with certificates that include the 4 C's or classification criteria (Clarity, Color, Cut, Carat) as for natural diamonds.

Consequences for the buyer

I-Diamands specifies the terminology allowed by the ISO 18323 Standard: "synthetic diamond", "laboratory-grown diamond" and "laboratory-created diamond". And its definition is clear: synthetic diamonds are "an artificial product that has the same chemical composition, crystal structure and physical properties as diamond".

In France, the 2002 decree on the trade in gemstones clarifies the terminology to be used.

First, the use of the term "diamond" alone implies that it is natural. Secondly, the law requires the seller to indicate whether the gems are "reconstructed, composite, synthetic, artificial or imitation".

MATY, the example of the clarified sale

Maty offers its customers the choice in all transparency: the natural and "synthetic" diamond with a distinctive green logo boasting "innovation, inspired by nature".

  • For example: the white gold ring mounted with a 0.50 carat synthetic stone is sold for 1,690 € in 2019. In other words, the white gold ring set with a 0.50 carat natural diamond is offered for €2,394 after a 40% discount on the initial price of €3,990. But on 15 May 2020, there is a slight change. Synthetic solitaire diamonds are offered on entry-level models. Then, they are used on new, more modern, stylized rings.
  • On Ebay, a seller displays a 0.50 carat diamond with a certificate of laboratory analysis of the CVD process for 600 €.

A new clientele: "the Millenials".

Indeed, only the person who wears it could know the origin of his diamond and for the new generation what does it matter?

Communication revolves around a certain "green" or "clean" manufacturing. In addition to an affordable price, the industry plans to increase production of synthetic diamonds to 3 to 4 million carats, compared to 150 million carats for natural diamonds, according to the FOCUS of 14/02/2019.

Conclusion

The lack of transparency between natural and synthetic diamonds can be found on the second-hand market.

Who will be able to tell the difference? In theory, synthetic diamonds carry the signature of the manufacturer for diamonds over 2 carats! In practice, the market has already seen synthetic diamonds replace synthetics. "Synthetic diamonds make the traditional industry tremble" is the title of the article by Dominique CHAPUIS in Les Echos of April 2018.

The Diamond Coast is reserved for professionals who undertake not to disseminate it to the general public. Since the Covid crisis, the market for precious metals and natural diamonds is on the rise again. Exceptional diamonds are once again becoming an attractive financial investment.

Consult Experts and independent gemology laboratories to find out the value of your jewellery!

Write and press Enter to search

Shopping cart
Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this

Le diamant de synthese à 800 € le carat, c’est fini ?
diamant
Posted in ExpertisesJoaillerieMarché de l'art

Le diamant de synthese à 800 € le carat, c’est fini ?

Nous avions annoncé 800 € le carat en 2019, il faut compter au moins 1 000 € en 2020.

Un nouveau marché

Depuis ces 2 dernières années, la fabrication du “diamant CVD” ou “Chemical Vapor Deposition” explose partout dans le monde. Il s’agit d’un nouveau procédé totalement réalisé en laboratoire.  Cette méthode s’impose rapidement sur le marché mondial de la joaillerie grâce à son prix et au marketing “vert”.

Au début, cette technique balbutie dès les années 1950 pour répondre à la demande des secteurs industriels et de la  haute technologie. Grâce aux propriétés physiques, principalement la dureté c’est à dire le plus haut degré atteint sur l’échelle dit de Mosch, le diamant de synthèse réduit en poudre s’utile pour le forage, sciage et divers domaines ….  selon Diamond Spot.

L’objectif est de reproduire en laboratoire des diamants incolores mais aussi de couleurs.  Ils possèdent les mêmes propriétés que ceux formés dans les gisements naturels. Par conséquent, les pierres fabriquées par l’homme deviennent très lucratives pour les sociétés d’exploitations minières. A l’oeil nu, il n’y a aucune distinction entre le diamant de synthèse et le naturel. A tel point que l’industrie a pu en écouler sur le marché avant la découverte des techniques de détection du CVD depuis 4 ans environ.

Il faut savoir que d’autres techniques de production ou d’amélioration de la pureté existent. De même que les diamants de couleur sont extrêmement rares à trouver, ils deviennent un enjeu pour leur production en série.

Plusieurs sociétés se partagent le marché mondial

D’abord, le magazine Futura Sciences titrait en juin 2018 “le géant DE BEERS, bouscule le marché de la joaillerie”. Commercialisés par la société Lightbox Jewelry, basée aux Etats Unis,  les diamants de synthèse sont vendus à 800 € le carat en 2019. Les techniques de fabrications ainsi que les prix figurent sur leur site.

Ensuite, en 2015, la société russe New Diamond Technology a annoncé avoir réussi à produire un diamant synthétique de 5,11 carats, avait annoncé Marie Chabrol, dans son blog le gemmologue.

En conséquence, plusieurs compagnies d’exploitation minières se lancent dans la fabrication du diamant de synthèse. Elles testent divers procédés à la fois pour obtenir de plus gros diamants avec une pureté parfaite. Elles vendent aussi avec des certificats reprenant les 4 C ou critères de classification (Clarity, Color, Cut, Carat) comme pour les diamants naturels.

Conséquences pour l’acheteur

I-Diamands nous précise quelle est la terminologie autorisée par le Standard ISO 18323: « synthetic diamond », « laboratory-grown diamond » et « laboratory-created diamond ». Et sa définition est claire : les diamants synthétiques sont « un produit artificiel qui a la même composition chimique, la même structure cristalline, et les mêmes propriétés physiques que le diamant ».

En France, le décret de 2002 relatif au commerce des pierres gemmes, clarifie la terminologie à employer.

Premièrement, l’utilisation du terme “diamant” seul implique qu’il est naturel. En second point, la loi oblige le vendeur à indiquer si les gemmes sont “reconstituées, composites, synthétiques, artificielle ou d’imitation”.

MATY, l’exemple de la vente clarifiée

Maty propose le choix à ses clients en toute transparence: le diamant naturel et “synthétique” avec un logo vert distinctif vantant une “innovation, inspirée par la nature”.

  • Par exemple: la bague en or blanc montée d’une pierre de synthèse 0,50 carat est vendue pour 1 690 € en 2019. Autrement dit, la bague en or blanc montée d’un diamant naturel de 0,50 carat est proposée à hauteur de 2 394 € après un rabais de 40% sur le prix initial de 3 990 €. Mais  le 15 mai 2020, on observe un léger changement. Les diamants solitaires de synthèse sont proposés sur des modèles entrée de gamme. Ensuite, ils sont utilisés sur des nouvelles bagues stylisées et plus modernes.
  • Sur Ebay, un vendeur, affiche un diamant de 0,50 carat avec certificat de laboratoire d’analyse du procédé CVD pour 600 €.

Une nouvelle clientèle : “les Millenials”.

En effet, seule la personne qui le porte pourrait savoir l’origine de son diamant et pour la nouvelle génération quelle importance ?

La communication tourne autour d’une certaine fabrication “écologique” ou “propre”. En plus d’un prix abordable, l’industrie prévoit de porter la production de diamants de synthèse à 3 à 4 millions de carats, contre 150 millions de carats pour les diamants naturels, selon le POINT du 14/02/2019.

Conclusion

L’absence de transparence entre les diamants naturel et de synthèse se retrouve sur le marché de  l’occasion.

Qui pourra faire la distinction  ? En théorie, les diamants de synthèse portent la signature du fabricant pour les diamants de plus de 2 carats ! En pratique, le marché a déjà vu des diamants de synthèse remplacer les synthétiques. “Les diamants de synthèse font trembler l’industrie traditionnelle” titre l’article de Dominique CHAPUIS dans les Echos d’avril 2018.

La côte du diamant est réservée aux professionnels qui s’engagent à ne pas la diffuser au grand public. Depuis la crise du Covid, le marché des métaux précieux et du diamant naturel repart à la hausse. Les diamants exceptionnels redeviennent un investissement financier attrayant.

Consultez des Experts et des laboratoires de gemmologie indépendants pour connaître la valeur de vos bijoux !

Ecrivez et appuyez sur Entrer pour rechercher

Panier