Insurance adjuster and insured adjuster

Posted in Insurance

It is a novelty, I have been solicited as an Insurance Expert on several occasions since the beginning of the year by public or private persons who had suffered a major loss.

Indeed, until now there has been a strict separation between the two professions.

Gradually, given the complexity of the files and a certain standardization of claims processing by insurance companies, a more personalized and in-depth approach is being sought by high-end clients.

What are the differences between the insurance adjuster and the insured? What is the cost of the service?

Choosing the insurance adjuster or the insured adjuster

In practice, the Insurance Adjuster is always mandated by your company following a claim and the Insurer's Expert chosen by the claimants themselves.

  • As soon as an insured signs a contract with an Insurance Expert, the latter becomes the Insurance Expert's interlocutor. The Insured's Expert makes the link with the Insurance Expert and is in charge of putting together the claim file and attending the expert appraisal meetings.
  • From an ethical point of view, the Insurance Adjuster cannot intervene either for a company or for the insureds of this same company; he cannot treat the file with the same approach or interest, this is the reason why the 2 professions remain distinct but skills are sought on the side of the Insurance Adjusters.
  • Each company applies different internal rules regarding the method of compensation or recurring problems such as compliance, fraud, qualification of supporting documents, for example.
  • The Insurance Damage Adjuster, often linked with a national network (Union of Experts, Texa, Polyexpert... ) works in confidence with the same company for several years.

The Insurance Expert can be himself a specialist (agricultural, financial losses, research in cause of fire, theft...) or a generalist and certified by the CEA, the Company of Experts, our professional union or even call upon a sapiteur, i.e. a specialist in a question (example for landslides).

The Insured's Expert may be affiliated to a different federation of the ECA, such as Fedexa. Some Experts d'assuré have followed the training at the ECA but they are too few in number. In fact, most of the time they are former Insurance Experts who are recruited by some firms.

Who pays in the end?

We must not hide the fact that the economic issue is the main driving force behind all of us. The number of cases to be settled per month and the amount of damages are the two factors in the calculation of the fee.

  • The Insurance Expert knows in advance his rate negotiated with the Company, whereas the Insured Expert is paid according to the amount of the indemnity received by the insured.
  • A change occurred when insurance companies gradually modified their contracts to refuse to take over a part of the fees of Experts d'assurés which is exclusively the responsibility of the insured, most of the time.
  • This is how, as I have experienced in the field, an Insurance Expert, realizing that the claim will not be guaranteed or not sufficiently justified, no longer wastes his time!

 

In conclusion, as always, there are no precise rules; each claim requires a particular approach to the analysis of insurance contracts and the agreements entered into, which is why the qualifications of the Expert appointed by your insurance company are often sufficient and sought after. The argus published in 2017 "there is a need for a skimming off in the profession of the Expert d'assuré".

You are always free to consult an experienced Insurance Adjuster and negotiate the fees to obtain a negotiated compensation.

Tomorrow, I am convinced of the evolution of the profession of Insurance Expert towards new, more commercial missions such as underwriting optional guarantees or even towards the increasingly common intervention as an Expert of the insured as well.

Do not hesitate to consult me for any particular question!

 

 

 

Write and press Enter to search

Shopping cart
Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this

Expert d’assurance et Expert d’assuré

Posted in Assurance

C’est une nouveauté, j’ai été sollicitée en tant qu’Expert d’assuré à plusieurs reprises depuis le début de l’année par des personnes publiques ou privées qui avaient subi un sinistre majeur.

En effet, jusqu’à présent un cloisonnement était strict entre les deux professions.

Progressivement, compte tenu de la complexité des dossiers et d’une certaine standardisation du traitement des sinistres par les compagnies d’assurance, une approche plus personnalisée et approfondie est recherchée par la clientèle haut de gamme.

Quelles sont les différences entre l’expert d’assurance et d’assuré ? Quel est le coût de la prestation ?

Choisir l’Expert d’assurance ou l’Expert d’assuré

Dans la pratique, l’Expert d’assurance est toujours mandaté par votre compagnie à la suite d’un sinistre et l’Expert d’assuré choisi par les sinistrés eux mêmes.

  • Dès qu’un assuré signe un contrat avec un Expert d’assuré, celui-ci devient l’interlocuteur de l’Expert d’assurance. L’Expert d’assuré fait le lien avec l’Expert d’assurance et se charge de constituer le dossier de réclamation et d’assister aux réunions d’opérations d’expertises.
  • D’un point de vue déontologique, l’Expert d’assurance ne peut intervenir tantôt pour une compagnie tantôt pour les assurés de cette même compagnie; il ne peut traiter le dossier avec la même approche ni intérêt c’est la raison pour laquelle les 2 professions restaient distinctes mais des compétences sont recherchées du côté des Experts d’assurance.
  • Chaque compagnie applique des règles internes différentes concernant le mode d’indemnisation ou des problèmes récurrents tels que la conformité, la fraude, la qualification des justificatifs, par exemple.
  • L’Expert dommage d’assurance, souvent lié avec un réseau national (Union d’Experts, Texa, Polyexpert… ) travaille en confiance avec la même compagnie pendant plusieurs années.

L’Expert d’assurance peut être lui même un spécialiste (agricole, pertes financières, recherche en cause d’incendie, vol …) ou généraliste et certifié par la CEA la Compagnie des Experts, notre syndicat professionnel ou encore faire appel à un sapiteur c’est à dire un spécialiste d’une question (exemple pour les glissements de terrain).

L’Expert d’assuré peut être affilié à une fédération différente de la CEA, telle que la Fedexa. Certains Experts d’assuré ont suivi la formation à la CEA mais ils sont trop peu nombreux. En fait, la plupart du temps ce sont d’anciens Experts d’assurance qui sont recrutés par quelques cabinets.

Qui paye au final ?

Il ne faut pas se cacher que la question économique est le principal moteur de chacun d’entre nous. Le nombre de dossiers à régler par mois et le montant des dommages sont les deux facteurs du calcul de la note d’honoraire.

  • L’Expert d’assurance connaît à l’avance sa tarification négociée avec la Compagnie alors que l’Expert d’assuré est réglé en fonction du montant de l’indemnité perçue par l’assuré.
  • Un changement s’est opéré quand les compagnies d’assurance ont progressivement modifié leurs contrats pour refuser de prendre en charge une partie des honoraires d’Experts d’assurés qui revient exclusivement à la charge de l’assuré, la plupart du temps.
  • C’est ainsi, comme je l’ai vécu sur le terrain, qu’un Expert d’assuré, réalisant que le sinistre ne sera pas garanti ou pas assez justifié, ne perd plus son temps !

 

En conclusion, comme toujours il n’y a pas de règle précise; chaque sinistre nécessite une approche particulière d’analyse des contrats d’assurance et des conventions souscrites c’est pourquoi  les qualifications de l’Expert missionnés par votre Compagnie d’assurance sont souvent suffisantes et recherchées. L’argus publiait en 2017 “il y a besoin d’un écrémage dans la profession d’Expert d’assuré”. 

Librement, vous pouvez toujours consulter un Expert d’assuré d’expérience et négocier les honoraires pour obtenir une indemnisation négociée.

Demain, je suis convaincue de l’évolution du métier d’Expert d’assurance vers de nouvelles missions plus commerciales comme la souscription de garanties optionnelles ou encore vers l’intervention de plus en plus courante en tant qu’Expert d’assuré également.

N’hésitez pas à me consulter pour toute question particulière !

 

 

 

Ecrivez et appuyez sur Entrer pour rechercher

Panier
Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this